Skip to content

What Pulls You Into Music?

October 11, 2012

As we learn about the different styles of music that evolved in the past, I think everyone feels a certain affinity for some styles and an aversion or indifference to other styles.  Are there any patterns in your taste of music?

I often find myself attracted to many different genres in music in general, but at certain times in my life I’m definitely pulled more towards certain sounds — perhaps related to my previous posts about what makes music popular.  In general, I tend to like music that is more consonant than dissonant, with smooth vocals (as opposed to the twangy sound of older country songs), and event smooth sounding instruments.

Right now, I’m really interested in music that has either awesome bass sounds or beautiful vocals.  I think this taste is influenced by my current enrollment in Music 215 and the CCP Ensemble 🙂

This song by Florence and the Machine called “Remain Nameless” really captures my current style:

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment